top of page

Why You Should Live With A Celiac



I am an absolute foodie, who loves to cook for and with people. Best part was, that I just landed the greatest apartment with the best people in Segovia, ready to share my heart and soul with, by cooking together. The three meals of the day are an essential part of my life and preparing them gave me my peace in mind from my studies. The thirty-minute break in combination with the thrill of people enjoying my food was just enough to keep me through the Law and International Relations degree.

So, when I heard that my new flatmate was Celiac (gluten-free), my mouth dropped. I had never seen a greater challenge in my cooking career. My mind was thinking of the worst. Did I have to move out? I didn’t even know what gluten really was. What was I going to do? What would I be making... Air?

Luckily, living with someone Gluten free is easier than what I initially thought of. And no, gluten free people do not sustain themselves on air.
When I first moved into my new home, my second concern was that I was going to poison my flatmate with some gluten based product. So, of course, my overly protective instincts kicked in and I took the time to learn everything about gluten and which foods contained this ‘vicious’ product. That didn’t take too long. Essentially, my research concluded that I couldn’t buy anything with wheat inside, killing my mini chef spirit inside, who grew up on an Eastern-European cuisine.
But not to despair! In the end, I was positively affected when I had to adapt my lifestyle to the dietary requirements of my flatmate. No more pasta Monday to Friday! I started our new life, living together, with soups and salads, explored new cuisines and I even ate my gluten as I usually would. The best part is, there are a bunch of gluten free products in super market. Unfortunately, they are a little pricier, but there are so many alternatives. You only have to give up the Italian cuisine, so if you’re Italian, you might not have the greatest experience as I did.
To top off that, cooking with gluten free products has actually made my food taste even better. Recommendation for even those who are not celiac: make your pancakes with gluten free flour. The flour is already sifted and it makes the pancakes extra fluffy. Now, I am prepared to host dinners for my friends who are celiac and adapting was so worth it.

Comments


Follow us @ieustork

Related posts

bottom of page