top of page

IE Poetry: Where I Come From

I am from get-togethers

and home cooked Paellas

Sliding down the hill at the park

On old pizza boxes.

I am from ​Gordita linda

And ​Princessa. From big family gatherings

That you never wanted to end.

I am from Montessori Sundays With dad reading the paper in his corner seat.

From fighting over which movie We all end up agreeing on.

I am from morning car rides to the bus

When you’re too asleep to think straight

and mom dances along To the newest pop single.

I am four-hour-long bus rides With Diego’s guitar and everyone’s voices.

From songs played again and again

And again.

I am from 11 frogs painted on the wall,

Hoping one day more will be added.

From having lunch at 6:30 pm

And play ​papelitos​ on the balcony.

I am from cooking pestiños With my grandpa a week before Christmas.

And fighting the urge To eat more ​galletitas de nuez​ than you can count.

I am from Mother’s day celebrations

And 15 de Septiembre fireworks.

From neighborhood halloween parties

That grow smaller every year.

I am from my grandpa’s apple pie,

My grandma’s blueberry tart,

And my grandma’s owl

And spoon collection.

I am from hundreds of books read,

Of songs sung, Of movies rewatched.

I am from us.

I am from you.

I am from me.

_________________________________________________________________________________

Author: Federika Uhthoff

Degree: Bachelor in International Relations

About the Author: Born and raised in Mexico City, Federika grew up in a culturally rich environment that gave her the opportunity to express her thoughts through writing. Federika finds her passion and creativity in the things she enjoys the most: dancing, reading, and deep conversations with friends. Federika studies in Spain, giving her the opportunity to broaden her horizon and enrich her mind by experiencing different cultures and traditions. All her work can be reflected on her life story and the things she values the most.

We will be dedicating this space to publishing poetry that comes from all members of the IE community. Send in your poetry at ieustork@gmail.com to be featured!

Follow us @ieustork

Related posts

bottom of page