top of page

How To Be Independently Happy



Valentine's Day is seen as a celebration of love allowed only to couples, but that’s truly not the case. Society has created this equation that being in a relationship equals happiness. However, in order to be deeply happy one must love themselves first. And the big question is: How in Cupids name do you do that?

By making this article personal instead of listing "simple" steps, I am giving you an honest guide to being independently happy.

Growing up in Miami, Florida, impacted me in several ways.

Firstly, it is known as an extremely superficial city that negatively affects people's mentalities, as they believe that if they have the "perfect" body and clothes then everything else will just naturally come to them. Not surprisingly enough, I thought it was true.

Throughout high school, I would see beautiful and thin women with boyfriends and wonder why I couldn’t have the same life; maybe with that body, that bag... I could have a boyfriend too. I would start to become insecure about myself due to that unhealthy mentality. But then I realized that I didn’t need that body and bag to be happy. I just needed to be me, Sofia, and that's what saved me from this too materialistic perspective of life. Don't compare yourself to others. Simply ignore and move on, life is too precious to waste unnecessary energy.

As simple as this sounds, hobbies enabled me to enjoy myself to the fullest.

One doesn't realize how much their mind breaths when doing something that brings happiness by enhancing all five senses. And if you don't have a hobby, then Valentine's day is a perfect opportunity to try something new !

Confidence radiates as strong as the sun.

It took me a long time to realize that if I'm not confident with myself, others won't be attracted to my energy due to the negativity of it. The true importance is aim to be the best version of yourself. An example: Try to go to the gym in the morning, that way you will feel ready to conquer the rest of the day! Also, when going out at night don’t be afraid to style yourself in a way that describes you, like wearing eccentric earrings or a t-shirt with a unique meaning.

People you surround yourself with can greatly affect you.

I realized that throughout high school. The friends you choose should positively influence you overall, and should not just be about the activities you do with them. Make sure that your relationship with others is a healthy balance from what you give and receive to each other. Supporting one another is one of the most powerful tools to having great friendships!


Happiness with oneself starts from within and not from other people or things. Begin to look at life as your oyster, and remind yourself that you are unique, worth it and grateful. Because in the end relationships simply complement your happiness rather than complete it. Set this mentality and I can promise you that from this Valentine's day onwards you will be filled with true inner love and contentment.

Comments


Follow us @ieustork

Related posts

bottom of page