top of page

Staff Spotlight: Fabián



Photo by Roberto Arribas

In an exclusive interview with The Stork, Segovia cafeteria´s icon Fabian reveals his feelings towards IE, mentions his bond with students, shares some personal information, and tells a couple of work anecdotes.

It is the aim of The Stork´s Spotlight section to integrate the student body not only with the faculty, but with the administration and all the workers that help shape the IE experience. The following Q&A with 29-year-old Argentine, Fabian Quiolla Pernas, embodies this effort.

How long have you been working at IE? Always in the same position?

Three years…always as a waiter in the cafeteria

What are the things you like the most about IE? What things would you like to change?

Speaking to young people, that is what I like the most. Something that I would change, well, maybe the attitude of professors towards the workers, who think that being an IE professor entitles them to certain things when that is not the case. This cafeteria is for everyone, and we all have the same rights.

In what sense are professors demanding privileged treatment?

Well, sometimes they ask if there is some V.I.P product for them to eat, or a V.I.P zone for them sit there; but that is not the case. Here, everything we have is for all clients.

What is your perception of the IE student? How is their treatment to you?

There is a bit of everything, to be honest, but I feel it is really good. Educated, always helpful, speaking a bit of Spanish, trying to make themselves understood.

How do you like the environment that this university provides?

I like it. I like it a lot. That is why I am here, because the environment is different to other jobs. In other jobs, perhaps, you find yourself working for fourteen hours, no weekends, without seeing your family, no Christmas… but here no. Here it is a whole different story.

During the three years you have worked here, what are the most remarkable changes you have noticed, regarding students or the university as a whole?

I have seen an increase in the number of people coming from Latino countries, Arab countries, and I like that a lot because there is great blend of cultures, and I see a very good trend towards racial integration. I like that very much. In other places, they are more marked, the groups and the differences.

What is your opinion about the infrastructure of the cafeteria? Any issues with the amount of space?

Yeah, the problem with this cafeteria, from my understanding, is that the walls are protected by law, so we cannot expand it, because you cannot knock down the wall…and everyday the flow of students increases, and we are working at top. The cafeteria collapses right away. We cannot expand, and we cannot do much more.

Any work anecdotes that you can recall during these three years?

I remember one. I will always remember it. A few years ago, I believe, we had a larger Nespresso machine that allowed you to prepare two coffees at the same time. Well, there was a professor that sneaked in early in the mornings, opened the drawer where used capsules fall and reused them, to not pay for the coffee.

Did you all know about this?

Yes, it was something very astonishing, because it was a professor, you know, someone that is supposed to have studied in order to receive a good salary.

This issue of people sneaking food out without paying, does it happen a lot?

It happens very often, and unfortunately, it's something that we cannot stop. In the end, we do not want to be cops or security agents. It is up to the good faith of the clients.

Switching to the personal aspect now, what are your hobbies?

Well, I enjoy watching series a lot. I like playing the guitar and the bas, listening to music. I like music a lot. At 7 a.m. when I am coming to work, I have my headphones on, and also when I leave. At home is the same. When I shower I listen to music (laughs). I am also fond of movies, going out and enjoying life with my girlfriend…

What is your favorite music genre?

I am a music lover. I can listen to everything from classical music, Wagner, to heavy metal, except reggaetón. That is club music…I don´t listen to it at home.

Do you prefer movies or books?

Movies.

Singing or dancing?

Both. I don´t have any issue with that.

Favorite food?

Chicken breast

Favorite superhero?

I´m not really into superheroes. The last film I enjoyed was Batman, Christopher Nolan´s trilogy…so maybe Batman.

What would you say is your talent?

I am very sociable. Most people tend to like me. Actually, this year I proposed myself to show people [with a bad attitude] that we are not here only to charge…that there can be a ¨friendship¨ between the student or client and the waiter.

What is your most prized material possession?

The first bass I bought.

What is your favorite clothing brand?

I don´t have one. I disagree with today´s fashion. I am very classic when it comes to dressing.

Fame or money?

I would say fame rather than money, because through fame you can do what you like.

Snow or beach?

The beach, every time.

This interview has been edited and condensed.

コメント


Follow us @ieustork

Related posts

bottom of page