top of page

Oliu and Llopis, the students who participated in 2018's UNIRAID



IE students Octavi Oliu and Ignacio Llopis participated in UNIRAID, a sports event held in Morocco with a charity component, that took place from February 24th to March 3rd.

From doing a PowerPoint for their parents explaining what UNIRAID is, to the process of naming their car, both best friends and current roommates gave an exclusive interview to The Stork where you can learn more about them and their UNIRAID project.



First of all, could you explain in your own words what is UNIRAID about?

Oliu: [It is a] Sports event with a solidarity component, in which you have to get a 20 year old car... or older… the one we have is from 1991... With the objective to drive all the way to Morocco and to join a raid. Normally, we -competitors- have to bring a minimum of 30 kilograms of solidarity material such as medical aid or school supplies, but food is not allowed. With the challenge that there is no way in which we can have technological help like a gps, we instead have a road book with different boxes where instructions are given such as “in 200 meters turn right” or “follow 2 km until you find the T shaped tree” and the aid of counting distances with a dual trip meter.

Why did you decided to go?

Llopis: We have a friend in common who participated and we saw it was a really nice project. We were convinced that the only year we could do it is now, because 3rd year in Segovia, next year we are in exchange and then in Madrid is super complicated... and it is a raid for university students.

Oliu: Yeah

Llopis: And we are both passionate… well I’m not that passionate about cars, but I do like them a lot... Octavi has been driving circuits since really really young and I’ve done many volunteering experiences. But the other times I have only gone there and help, this time I was like managing the experience and the process of organizing it by yourself, finding sponsors, contacting people, you do it all by yourself so it is an amazing thing.

What are you more excited about from the raid?

Llopis: The marathon stage from Erg Chebbi to Zagora, where the light of the stars are so bright that you can drive through the dunes at night without lights, other than those of the car.

Oliu: This is a marathon stage where you have to make your camp in the dunes and prepare your own dinner, make a campfire...

Llopis: ...and you are in the middle of nowhere, literally...

Oliu: ...we have not taken into consideration… you know... there can be scorpions there.

Llopis: Yeah, yeah (laughs)

Then… Are you spending the night alone?

Oliu: Yeah, yeah, it will be romantic… the stars, the campfire, Llopis and I, our car, some marshmallows (both chuckle)


Hahaha, on another subject, tell me a little bit about your car.

Llopis: We are super satisfied with it, at the end of the day, I have one of the best treasures… the car… it’s like my first son. (I laughed). No seriously. When I see the car it’s incredible to see my friend’s companies, my university… Irish… my flag, my logo, the aqueduct, is decorated so special.

Oliu: Is part of us, is our souvenir for our whole Segovia experience.

Llopis: It has our personality.

Does it have a name?

Llopis: Fuu…. The Moroccan Locomotive we call it (both laugh)

Octavi: We call it that way but we still haven’t found the very decisive name. But, we have a small bull, that is our mascot...

Llopis: ...His name is Otto.

Oliu: We thought about calling ourselves Team Acueducto, but that didn't really work. I’m sure, we will get there and other teams will give us a creative name.


What are your biggest expectations?

Oliu: I expect to learn a lot of people from different backgrounds [...] from a small towns, [and ] to get out of the comfort zone and help each other [...] because the point [of the raid] is to all make it together till the end, as a group, it's useless if one car gets 4 hours earlier than the rest, you go there and help each other as a team.

What does your family think about you joining UNIRAID?

Llopis: My family took it pretty well because I’ve been in the Amazon in Brazil before, they know this kind of things make me happy. They just told me it was my responsibility [...] My parents supported me a lot (so thank you, gracias).

Oliu: In my case it was different. I told them I wanted to join, but they didn’t believe me and didn’t give it importance… they thought I was talking bullshit. 3 months later I told them I needed a car insurance, to what they replied “what car?", and I said “The car for the raid I told you about” and my mom said “oh, that was for real”...

Llopis: ...He had to do a powerpoint presentation!

Oliu: I had to explain them what’s the purpose and that is going to be really good for me [...] I had to pitch the project like for a company, but after all they agreed.

Are you afraid?

Both: No. not at all.

Llopis: You need to get out of your comfort zone and try new things.

Any final considerations?

Oliu: We want to encourage everyone to do it on the following years, there is no limit in amount of participants per Uni so as many as you guys want can go, if you are passionate about it. Just don’t underestimate it, it takes time and work but it’s worth it.

Llopis: And you need to take advantage of the fact that University is open for this kind of projects.

Oliu: The university and the student community, and Segovia was there for us and did everything for us. Nieto... we also owe Nieto, the mechanic professor from IES Albuera Segovia who helped us with our car. We contacted him on a Friday morning and that afternoon he called us and said “I want the car at my place Monday 10 am sharp, or else we won’t be able to make it”, to which I was like “alright”. He is the person we thank the most.

The Llopis-Octavi team made it till the end of the race. They thank the IE community for all their support and share their experience through a set of pictures they sent exclusively for The Stork.

This interview has been edited for length and clarity. Interview conducted with the help of Nicolás López and Volodymyr Lakomov.

Comments


Follow us @ieustork

Related posts

bottom of page