top of page

Embracing Latin dance in Casa de la Moneda


SEGOVIA - Every Monday and Friday from 18:30 to 19:30, nearly 20 IE students gather in Casa de la Moneda for Latin dance classes with artist, Laura Segovia.

Mainly focused on Latin rhythms, on Mondays they work on Merengue and Salsa and on Fridays it’s Bachata and Cuban “Rueda”. For all the classes, previous experience is not an mandatory.

“Everyone is always welcome in my classes, you can come with or without a partner. The more we are, the merrier and more energetic it is,” mentioned the teacher.

“Joining is definitely not mandatory! We encourage you to live this fabulous experience with us.”

For some of the regular attendees, dance was also a reason to choose to study in Spain and IE.

“I have been attending the classes since the beginning of last semester,” said Theresa Jürgenssen.

“I have been wanting to learn Latin dance, primarily Salsa, for some years now and I had always been psyched about moving to Spain. But then in the first week here, I asked around if there was a salsa bar around and I was told no. So, when I heard about Latin dance classes I was thrilled.”

Also, there are other kinds of dance classes with Laura Segovia that students can attend, such as the Flamenco and Sevillanas class that is on Mondays in Casa de Moneda between 19:30 and 20:30. Zumba classes are held in the Factory Residence on Thursdays between 18:30 and 19:30.

“I absolutely adore the classes and Laura, our teacher, she is absolutely amazing. She has so much spirit and enthusiasm,” continued Jürgenssen.

“Plus, there is no pressure from her to understand it quickly and that renders the class very relaxing. Another thing is that it is a great way to get to know some new people and socialize. Last semester we went to see a flamenco show once and went to some dance bars after, where we were using what we had learned. It was so much fun!”

“I’ve been teaching for a lot of years now and I am a professional coach. Apart from teaching dance, I like taking care of my students,” added Segovia.

“Even though my classes are in English, we learn a bit of Spanish also! We count the numbers and figures in Spanish, so it is also a good linguistic practice”

It is still not late to put “rhythm” into your life! As Segovia has mentioned, everybody is welcome to attend her classes.

Follow IE Dance Club on Instagram: @iedanceclub or @laurasegoviaflamenco for more information.

コメント


Follow us @ieustork

Related posts

bottom of page