top of page

Blood Donations: an altruistic act that can save lives.



Next Saturday February 24th, Segovia will have a special blood donation day hosted by the ‘Fraternity of Blood Donors of Segovia’, and IE students are invited to join the cause and donate.

This event is called ‘Jornada Especial de Donación de Sangre Segovia por la Vida’ or ‘Special Day for Blood Donation Segovia for Life’. The blood donation booth will be open from 9 am. to 2 pm. in a mobile unit in the Aqueduct Avenue, next to BANKIA’s central store.

At IE, other Blood Donation Campaigns have been previously organized. On Tuesday January 23rd, the IE Charity Club and IE Campus Life organized a blood donation from 10:45 am to 8 pm with the Spanish Red Cross on the Madrid Campus.

“I donate because there is people out there who need it and maybe one day that could happen to me and I would like other people to donate for me” said Irene Ocariz, 1st year BBA student and frequent donor. “Also, it is beneficial because you can renew your blood and you can regenerate blood if you are healthy.”

If you wish to donate there are some requirement that determine if you are healthy to do it.

  • Be between 18 and 65-year-old

  • Weigh more than 50 kilos

  • Must not have any sickness transmissible through blood. (Hepatitis B or C, SIDA, syphilis, etc.)

  • Bring your ID or donator card if you already have one.


Some IE students that already follow the special blood donor requirements have taken the step and donated.

“I decided to donate blood because giving up 30 minutes of my time was worth it if I could save someone’s life,” said Balere Ortúzar, 2nd year Bachelor in Psychology student. “A few years back one of my family members had a blood transfusion and that was my first time donating. After that, I researched more about it and committed to donate every time I could.”

Other students that are currently unable to donate, but have done it before, recommend the experience.

“Currently I can’t donate because of my arthritis problem, but if I could, I would be the first one to go every three months to do it. I have done it before and I recommend it 100%,” said Isabella D’Ambrosio 2nd year Communications student.

Blood donation is something that also needs some previous preparation. One of the basic rules is to eat something beforehand, but nothing greasy or iron-rich, if possible. You should stay hydrated and have had a good night of sleep the night before. The donation lasts between 20 and 30 minutes so if you feel the need to relax or distract yourself you should bring earphones, a book or even a friend. To feel more comfortable, it is recommended to wear a shirt that you can easily raise above the elbow. In addition to that, it is important that you do not drink or smoke 24h before and 2 hours after the donation.

The 24th event and the IE event are not the only opportunities students where students can donate blood. A fixed point of donation can be found at Puerta del Sol, Madrid, and in Segovia at the General Hospital.

Each donation can save up to 3 lives, so take the step and go donate.

If you want more information on places to donate blood in Segovia and the process click here.

If you have any further questions, click here.

Comments


Follow us @ieustork

Related posts

bottom of page